Minimally Invasive Surgery & Colorectal Diseases Center

Surgical Services and Minimally Invasive Services
cs-sp-colorectal_health_center-banner@2x
cs-sp-colorectal_health_center-list@2x

Minimally Invasive Surgery (MIS) and Colorectal Diseases Center is directed by a group of experienced and professional surgeons and qualified nurses. The center provides one-to-one care, timely treatment, multidisciplinary care, professional diagnosis and investigation to all our patients.

 

Scope of Services

  • Identify potential new cases by screening program, colorectal package and investigation.
  • Provide timely standard treatment plan
  • Arrange and perform the colorectal surgery by the surgeon with specific training and expert experience.
  • Pre and post-operation services
  • One-to-one specialist nurse as case manager
  • Oncologist participation in treatment
  • Online booking

 

Resident General Surgeon Out-patient Clinic Hours  

 

Learn more about Colorectal Cancer
Learn more about Colorectal Cancer

Colorectal Cancer

Colorectal Cancer usually starts from the growth of polyps in the large bowel. When a polyp develops over time, it may turn into cancer.  Colorectal Cancer is the most common cancer in Hong Kong, over 90% of colorectal cancer cases are occurred in people aged 50 or above.

 

   

 

 

Colonscopy

It is an investigatory procedure that a doctor uses a long flexible tube to examine the inside of the large bowel and polyps could be removed by surgeon immediately. To detect colorectal cancer earlier, colonoscopy is currently a reliable and safe way to do the examination.

 

   

 

 

Endoscopic Submucosal Dissection (ESD)

ESD uses to tackle large and laterally spreading type polyp. There are layers of human bowel, polyps usually appear in the deepest one. With the usage of tailor made ESD knife and endoscope, the surgeon can remove the polyps from mucous membrane. It enables the surgeons to move the polyps completely and largely decrease the injury that may bring to the bowel.

 

     

High risk group

  • Aged 50 or above
  • History of colonic polyps
  • One or more first-degree relatives having colorectal cancer diagnosed
  • Long history of inflammation of the bowel
  • Persons with hereditary bowel diseases
  • Obesity
  • Diet habit with low fibre intake, lack exercise, smoking, alcohol consumption and high consumption of red and processed meat
Patient Journey
Patient Journey

Before colonoscopy

3 day before: avoid high residue diet (e.g. vegetables, nuts, fruits)

1 day before: liquid food only (congee water or soup)

Night before: take cleansing solution

3 hours before: do not eat or drink

 

   

Procedure

You will be given an intravenous sedative injection to ensure your comfort.

Supplemental oxygen will be supplied if needed.

Blood pressure, pulse and blood oxygen level will be monitored during the procedure.

 

 

Post-colonoscopy

Do not eat until feeling of discomfort has cleared.

Abnormal symptoms or distention may persist for a few hours.

Do not drive, operate machines or undertake any dangerous activity for 24 hours.

Do not drink alcohol for at least 24 hours.

 

   

Laparoscopic Colectomy

Laparoscopic colectomy, a minimally invasive surgery for colorectal cancer, is considered an alternative to traditional open colectomy. Surgeons will use surgical instruments to remove a portion or entire colon. Compared to open colectomy, laparoscopic colectomy brings less pain, reduced blood loss and shorter recovery time to patients.

 

   

Cancer Treatment

Colorectal cancer patients will be referred to our specialized oncology team. Treatments include surgery, chemotherapy, radiotherapy or targeted therapy.

Colonoscopy
Colonoscopy

Colonoscopy Brings Peace Of Mind

Colon cancer is one of the most common yet easily preventable cancers. It can be detected, and even prevented, safely and efficiently by a colonoscopy. However, many people choose to avoid the procedure out of embarrassment and fear of discomfort. As a result, the chance of early detection is lost.

To ease these worries, HKAH–TW has introduced the latest scientific and technological advances aimed at minimizing discomfort during a colonoscopy.


Cancer on the Rise

In recent years, the number of cases of colon cancer has continued to rise in countries all over the world. It is now the second most common cancer and cancer killer in Asia, including Hong Kong, just behind lung cancer. In 2005, there were nearly 4000 new cases in Hong Kong.

Statistics show that as many as 85 per cent of colon cancers develop from polyps in the bowel. Although, it is not known why polyps develop in the bowel, it is believed that an unhealthy meat-based diet, lacking in vegetables, low in fiber and high in fat, is related. A small number of cases are hereditary with the risk of developing colon cancer increasing with age.

Bowel polyps take around about ten years to evolve into cancer. This period of time is called the “golden ten years” because if the bowel polyps are detected and completely removed during this time they do not become cancerous. This has led experts to recommend colorectal screening to make use of the opportunity presented by the “golden ten years” and reduce the risk of this type of cancer developing.


Prevention by Screening

There were two types of colon cancer screenings: the stool occult blood test and the colonoscopy. However, fecal occult blood test only detects early stage colon cancer and not the pre-cancerous polyps. This makes a colonoscopy the most effective way of screening at present.

In this procedure, a flexible tube with a fiber optic camera at the end is passed through the anus to provide a visual diagnosis. If discovered, the polyps are removed by surgeons immediately.

Colon cancer is more common in people aged over 50. It is therefore recommended that people undergo colon-cancer screening every ten years beginning at the age 50.

Unfortunately, in Hong Kong, only a small group of people undergo the procedure on their own initiative, with about 95 per cent of colonoscopies taking places because the patients has shown some symptoms.

The most common reasons for avoiding the procedure are embarrassment, discomfort, and pain caused by the endoscope passing through the anus to colon and as a result of air being blown into the bowel to maximize visibility. The process used to take about 20 to 30 minutes and was still uncomfortable even with sedation. In addition, patients were required to drink a lot of water before the test to clear the colon of any solid matter.


Medical Advances Ease Discomfort

Aware of these discomforts and eager to make the most of the “golden ten years”, HKAH–TW has sought to improve the procedure by introducing the latest technological advances.

These include Monitoring Anesthetic Care (MAC) which is given by the anesthesiologist.

Secondly, CO2 is used to inflate the bowel rather than air. This is a gas which is more readily absorbed by the body which means it is not retained in the belly to cause uncomfortable abdominal distention.

Thirdly, the bowel preparation has also been improved so it requires less fluid and so does not lead to the “full belly” sensation. Instead, the patient drinks just 90cc of a concentrated fluid and a few glass of water. However, this method is not suitable for the elderly, patients with heart disease, kidney disease or liver cirrhosis.

The combination of these new advances helps the patient relax, which in turn helps the surgeon complete the test in a shorter time and in doing so brings the patient peace of mind and protection from colon cancer for several years to come.
Weight Control Surgery
Weight Control Surgery

Obesity affects blood pressure, blood cholesterol, lipids, and blood sugar levels, and is also a risk factor of various diseases. As we become more health conscious, weight management continues to be an important factor when it comes to staying healthy. At HKAH–TW, weight control surgery is managed and performed by an experienced surgical team, and stands as a healthy weight loss option for those who are obese.

General Surgery
Dr. Chau Chun Han Kenneth
Adventist Health Physician
Consultant In General Surgery
Clinical Director Of Surgical Services
dr-chau_chun_han_kenneth@2x
LMCHK
FRCSEd
FCSHK
FHKAM (Surgery)
General Surgery
Dr. Chui Lap Bun
Adventist Health Physician
Consultant In General Surgery
Clinical Director Of Minimally Invasive Surgery And Colorectal Disease Center
dr-chui_lap_bun-enhanced@2x
MBBS(HK)
MRCSEd
FRCSEd
FCSHK
FHKAM (Surgery)
Charges for Out-patient Services
Charges for OPD/ Specialist Clinic Consultation
Charges for OPD/ Specialist Clinic Consultation

Pilot Programme for Enhancing Price Transparency for Private Hospitals

Services Fees & Packages
Minimally Invasive Surgery & Colorectal Diseases Center
Minimally Invasive Surgery & Colorectal Diseases Center

Enquiries: 22756688

Location
199 Tsuen King Circuit, Tsuen Wan, N.T., Hong Kong
Telephone

(852) 6018 2809 / 2275 6888

Close

微創手術及大腸外科中心

外科及微創手術
cs-sp-colorectal_health_center-banner@2x
cs-sp-colorectal_health_center-list@2x

微創手術及大腸外科中心的醫生和護士,憑藉多年專科經驗,專注提供一對一管理個案、及時治療、跨專科及專業準確的醫療服務。

 

服務

  • 提供大腸癌篩查和大腸檢查鏡套餐,以助盡快確診
  • 及時醫療服務
  • 由專治大腸疾病的外科專科醫生進行手術及檢查
  • 手術前後護理服務
  • 一對一個案經理跟進
  • 臨床腫瘤科專科醫生參與治療
  • 網上預約

 

本院外科醫生門診部時間表

 

認識大腸癌
認識大腸癌

大腸癌

大腸癌的雛型,就是腸道內的一顆顆瘜肉。當瘜肉隨年月而增長和病變,便很大機會惡化成大腸癌。大腸癌是香港最常見的癌症,當中超過九成患者都是五十歲以上人士。

 

   

 

 

大腸鏡檢查

醫生會以柔軟的長導管,進入體內作大腸檢查。這檢查同時都是手術程序,因如醫生在過程中發現瘜肉,可馬上使用儀器切除。

   

 

 

內視鏡黏膜下剝離術

這是一項切除大腸瘜肉的新技術,專門針對較大和橫向生長的瘜肉,大腸有多層組織,大腸瘜肉多於最內層出現,「內視鏡黏膜下剝離術」利用特別設計的電刀和內視鏡,外科醫生可由黏膜下層,把大腸瘜肉與正常的黏膜慢慢剝離,此技術可以完整切除瘜肉,也大大減低對整條大腸的傷害。

     

高風險人士

  • 五十歲以上
  • 曾有大腸瘜肉
  • 一位或以上直系親屬曾確診大腸癌
  • 患大腸長期發炎的疾病
  • 患遺傳性腸道疾病
  • 肥胖
  • 飲食習慣為低纖維、缺乏運動、吸煙、喝酒或經常進食加工或紅肉
醫療流程
醫療流程

檢查前

三天前:應避免進食較多腸道殘留物的食物(如:蔬菜、果仁和水果)

一天前:只可進食流質食物(粥或湯)

檢查前一晚:飲用藥水

檢查前三小時:禁止進食或喝水

 

   

檢查期間

醫生會以靜脈注射鎮靜藥物

需要時會供給氧氣

檢查期間會一直觀察血壓、脈搏和血含氧量

 

 

檢查後

麻醉或鎮靜藥力減退後,才可進食

術後不適持續數小時後便會消散

檢查後二十四小時內,不應駕駛、操作機器或任何危險工作

檢查後二十四小時內,不應飲用酒精類飲品

 

   

微創腹腔鏡大腸切除手術

腹腔鏡手術屬微創手術,外科醫生會使用特別設計的外科手術儀器切除部分或全部腸道。與傳統手術相比,微創腹腔鏡大腸切除手術能減少病人的術後痛楚、減少出血量和康復較快。

 

   

癌症治療

大腸癌患者一經確診後,可轉介至臨床腫瘤科專科醫生跟進。治療方法包括手術、化療、電療和標靶治療。

大腸鏡檢查
大腸鏡檢查

大腸鏡檢查新知

腸癌是少數可透過檢查而預防的癌症,可惜,即使我們已擁有大腸鏡檢查這種高效安全的預防大腸癌檢查方式,不少人仍然抱持著「檢查過程不舒服,令人尷尬」的守舊觀念,錯失了及早偵查的好機會。荃灣港安針對上述問題,以經過改良的大腸鏡技術,讓大眾安心接受檢查。

腸癌數字 連年上升

近年,腸癌病例數字在全球各國持續上升,其發病率及死亡率在全亞洲以至香港,均高踞各種癌症中的第二位,僅次於肺癌。2005年,本港便有近四千宗新症,情況令人關注。

統計發現,約85%的腸癌都是由腸瘜肉演變而來。至於腸瘜肉的成因則未完全確認,估計可能與「高脂低纖,多肉少菜」的不良飲食習慣等有關。另有少數腸癌病例與遺傳有關,得病風險可隨年齡上升。

腸癌由瘜肉演化成癌,其過程約為十年,因此,只要在這「黃金十年」內,偵測出腸內瘜肉,就可在其惡化前立即徹底清除。正因為腸癌是種可預防的癌症,醫學界多年來均提倡大眾,透過腸癌普查,將其威脅減至最低。

腸癌普查 防患未然

普查的項目主要分兩種,一是大便隱血測試,二是大腸鏡檢查。但由於隱血測試的敏感度不高,只可測出早期的大腸癌,而無法確認腸內的瘜肉,因此,現時最有效的檢查方法,還是大腸鏡檢查。

腸鏡檢查時,醫護人員會以一條末端裝有微型鏡頭的光纖管道,探入測試者的肛門,而鏡頭則連接在手術室的顯示屏中,醫生可從影像觀察測試者的大腸狀況,如發現瘜肉可即時切除。

大腸癌的好發年齡為五十歲及以上,因此,市民應在五十歲以後,每十年定期進行一次大腸鏡檢查。然而,在香港,主動接受腸鏡檢查的人士不多,百分之九十五的檢查者,都是因為出現腸癌徹狀,才去作測試確診的。

抗拒腸鏡檢查的原因,不外乎檢查過程辛苦痛楚,及令人尷尬兩點。說檢查辛苦,因為在檢查時,醫護人員會將一條長長的管道塞入肛門,而為令腸道膨脹方便檢查,亦會將空氣打入腸中,雖然病人已使用輕度鎮靜劑,還是會感到不適,且「成肚氣」的腫脹感,會持續20分鐘至半小時。另外,病人在測試前亦須喝下大量水份,令腸道廢物排出。

腸鏡新技術 減低不適

荃灣港安明白病人以上的種種關注,因此積極改良了大腸鏡的技術,讓病人減低其不適與不安。首先,醫生可按需要,在麻醉師協助下,使用深層鎮靜劑。

至於「空氣入腸」的不適感,則可透過嶄新方式來舒解-改為打入較易被人體吸收的二氧化碳,由於二氧化碳「來得快,去得亦快」,不會「滯留」在腹中,紓緩腹脹。

我們亦應用了經改良的「洗腸」方式,讓測試者在檢查前喝下約90cc的濃縮藥水,再喝幾杯清水,就可代替以往「一肚水」的洗腸效果(長者、心臟或腎臟患病、及肝硬化病人不宜採用)。

因此,只要在測試前能放鬆心情,再配合本院以上的腸鏡新技術,病人便可在短時間內完成檢查,遠離腸癌的威脅。
微創減重手術
微創減重手術

肥胖影響我們的血壓、血脂、血糖和胰島素,並且是多種疾病的風險因素。隨着人們的健康意識日漸提高,它已被視為與健康尤關的重要問題。荃灣港安的微創減重手術服務由富經驗的外科專科醫生主理,為肥胖人士提供健康減重的另一選擇。

外科
周俊恒醫生
本院醫生
外科顧問醫生
外科臨床主管
dr-chau_chun_han_kenneth@2x
香港醫務委員會執照
英國愛丁堡皇家外科醫學院院士
香港外科醫學院院士
香港醫學專科學院院士(外科)
外科
徐立斌醫生
本院醫生
外科顧問醫生
微創手術及大腸外科中心臨床主管
dr-chui_lap_bun-enhanced@2x
香港大學內外全科學士
英國愛丁堡皇家外科醫學院院員
英國愛丁堡皇家外科醫學院院士
香港外科醫學院院士
香港醫學專科學院院士(外科)
門診及專科門診收費
門診及專科門診收費
門診及專科門診收費

提高私家醫院收費透明度的先導計劃

服務及套餐收費
微創手術及大腸外科中心
微創手術及大腸外科中心

查詢: 22756688

位置
香港新界荃灣荃景圍199號
電話

(852) 6018 2809 / 2275 6888

關閉