Diagnostic Imaging

Diagnostic Imaging
oncology_banner
oncology_mobile banner

Staffed by a team of experienced specialists, our Imaging Department is dedicated to providing high-quality and professional services. Through a patient-centered approach, our medical team offers care that is attentive to both the physical and psychological needs of patients, while state-of-the-art facilities ensure that accurate and timely diagnoses are provided.

Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI)
Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI)

In addition to the existing Philips Ingenia 3T, Hong Kong Adventist Hospital – Tsuen Wan is proud to introduce the all-new Philips Ingenia 1.5T MR system. Both the systems have equipped with state-of-the-arts configurations, hardware and carrying the most updated digital broadband MR systems. Empowered by its breakthrough dStream architecture, the MR systems digitize the MR signal directly in the RF coil, as close to the patient as possible, delivering exceptionally clear images at remarkable speeds. The systems’ large 70-cm opening cater to patients with different needs, providing a more comfortable environment while helping to reduce anxiety.

 

What Is Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) ? 

MRI, which stands for Magnetic Resonance Imaging, is different from X-rays and Computed Tomography (CT) scans in that it is safe and radiation free. The magnetic field produced by an MRI scanner aligns the magnetization of certain atoms in the human body. Radio-frequency pulses are first sent to these atoms which then bounce back, with Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) signals produced recorded on a computer. The different signals sent by different types of tissues are analyzed and rendered into a detailed image of the internal organs.

 

Our MRI services include:

  • Cardiac (Heart) MRI scan
    A cardiac MRI generates three-dimensional images of the heart. As a noninvasive and radiation-free technique, it is especially useful for evaluating conditions such as coronary artery disease, heart failure, and congenital heart disease. One single examination is enough to collect detailed information on the heart's pumping and perfusion performance, muscle contractility, blood flow velocity, and condition of the proximal coronary arteries. The test is a convenient, one-stop-shop examination for cardiac patients.
  • Brain MRI scan
    Most specialists agree that the MRI is the best diagnostic tool for the evaluation of the central nervous system (brain and spinal cord). For stroke patients, the diffusion weighted scan allows almost immediate visualization of the parts of the brain with inadequate blood flow, enabling timely treatment to prevent permanent cell death.

  • Spine MRI scan
    A spine MRI provides detailed pictures of areas of the spine which are otherwise hard to see, including the spinal canal, bony segments, and soft tissue. It can pinpoint problems and show the exact location of tumours in the spine, spinal cord, or disks. It is an important diagnostic tool for patients suffering from pain or numbness in the back or the limbs.

  • MRA (Magnetic Resonance Angiography)
    MRA is an examination of the blood vessels including the carotid, pulmonary, peripheral, and renal arteries, as well as the aorta. As a noninvasive technique, MRA also carries less risk for the patient than traditional invasive procedures.

  • Other high-resolution regional MRI scans

    Musculoskeletal and Joint Imaging
    Using MRI to examine muscles and joints from all angles allows for the investigation of complicated soft tissue structure. In addition to providing vital information to orthopaedic surgeons, MRI is also an indispensable tool in the management of sports injuries.

     

    MR Cholangiogram
    MRI is a noninvasive technique that allows for effective imaging of the entire biliary system, and is most useful in the investigation of the causes of obstruction to the biliary tract.

     

    Abdominal and Pelvis Imaging
    Breath-hold abdominal and pelvis MRI scans allow for accurate assessments of the conditions of abdominal and pelvic structures.

Computed Tomography Scan
Computed Tomography Scan

Hong Kong Adventist Hospital – Tsuen Wan is equipped with two Computed Tomography (CT) scanners, the Philips iCT256 Computed Tomography (CT) scanner and the Canon Aquilion ONE/ Prism Edition CT Scanner.

 

In addition to extremely high speeds, high resolution, and fine details, both scanners also boost lower radiation doses and requires less contrast media. The ultrafast scan speeds enable a scan to be completed within seconds, easing the process for patients who may have difficulty holding their breath. The reduced doses of radiation and contrast media also decrease the health risk to patients, especially those with renal diseases who may experience adverse reactions to contrast medium.

 

Furthermore, the advanced technology of artificial intelligence of the Canon Aquilion ONE/ Prism Edition CT scanner allows the Deep Learning image reconstruction, so that the useful structural images are separated from the useless noises with faster and better image reconstruction.

 

The Computed Tomography (CT) scan, also called the computerized axial tomography (CAT) scan, is a precise instrument that calculates the degree of X-ray absorbed by human tissues. It produces detailed cross-sectional images of the body parts under examination and compiles them to form three-dimensional images. The short duration of the procedure makes it suitable for children and the elderly, who may have problems lying down for extended periods of time.

 

Clinical applications of CT scans include:

  • CT Coronary Angiography (CTCA)

    A Computed Tomography Coronary Angiography (CTCA) is a noninvasive and painless screening examination which helps assess a patient’s risk for heart diseases.

     

    Plaque is formed when fat, calcium, and other substances accumulate in the coronary arteries, gradually narrowing the arteries and blocking blood flow to the heart. This may lead to angina or a heart attack. Our coronary CT scanner provides quick and accurate information about the location and extent of calcified plaques in the coronary arteries.

     

    Calcium compounds are a major cause of coronary artery disease. The calcium score, which may be computed from data obtained through a CTCA, indicates the degree of calcium blockage in the arteries. Based on the score, suitable treatment for a patient may be designed.

     

    If you identify with two or more of the following risk factors for coronary heart disease, you should consider a CTCA:

    • Women aged 55 or above or postmenopausal women
    • Men aged 45 or above
    • Family history of heart disease
    • High cholesterol
    • High blood pressure or hypertension
    • Diabetes
    • History of tobacco use
    • Sedentary lifestyle
  • CT Virtual Colonoscopy
    A Virtual Colonoscopy is a recently developed technique that uses a CT scanner and virtual reality software to look inside the large bowel. It is a substitute for conventional colonoscopy, where a long tube is inserted into the colon.

  • CT Angiogram
    A CT angiogram investigates suspected arterial vessel disease without the risk of puncturing blood vessels.

  • Other high-resolution regional CT examinations
  • High-resolution CT for lung diseases
  • Abdominal and pelvic scans
  • Brain scans
Ultrasound Scan (US)
Ultrasound Scan (US)
In an ultrasound scan, high-frequency sound waves are transmitted into the patient’s body. The echo sound waves that bounce back are collected with a device, which then displays images of the organ or tissues under examination. The scan is typically used on the gallbladder, the bile ducts, the pancreas, the kidneys, the bladder, the uterus, and the ovaries for detection of conditions such as cirrhosis, gallstones, pancreatic inflammation, and tumours. The absence of radiation in ultrasounds also makes it safe for use in obstetric examinations.
Dual-energy X-ray Absorptiometry (DEXA)
Dual-energy X-ray Absorptiometry (DEXA)

Dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry (DEXA) is the most widely used and most accurate way to measure bone mineral density (BMD). A machine delivers X-ray beams at different energy levels to the spine or hip joints, and its software computes the bone density of the patient by comparing the absorption rates of the two sets of transmissions.

 

The test is quick and uses very low doses of radiation. It allows patients to keep track of their bone density over the years and is particularly recommended for those with a high risk of osteoporosis, including postmenopausal women, the elderly, and those with a family history of the condition.

Mammography
Mammography

A mammography is a safe and reliable way to evaluate the condition of the breasts. It delivers extremely low doses of X-ray, and can detect breast cancer long before the tumour is large enough to cause symptoms. The US National Cancer Institute (NCI) recommends that women over 40 undergo a mammogram every one to two years. The test is also recommended for younger women with a family history of breast cancer.

Interventional Radiology
Interventional Radiology

The Digital Subtraction Angiography (DSA) machine at our hospital allows for clear visualization of blood vessels in the human body. Digital technology enables artifacts and bony structures that may be blocking the view of the blood vessels to be erased from the image.

 

The powerful DSA enables interventional radiologists to perform minimally invasive procedures. As technology continues to advance, an increasingly wide range of diseases can now be treated with interventional radiology.

Compared to open surgery, this technique offers a variety of benefits including smaller incisions, less blood loss, and a shorter period of hospitalization, making it a treatment of choice for most patients.

Common interventional radiographic procedures:

  • Uterine fibroid embolization: A proven effective treatment for uterine fibroids
  • Balloon angioplasty/stent: For treatment of peripheral vascular diseases
  • Percutaneous vertebroplasty: A procedure that strengthens vertebral bodies in cases of symptomatic compression fractures caused by osteoporosis or malignancies
  • Thrombolysis: Dissolves blood clots for the treatment of stroke and other thromboembolic diseases
General X-ray and fluoroscopy
General X-ray and fluoroscopy

X-ray is a type of radiation that is able to pass through different substances at varying absorption rates. With this, images of bones, organs, and other body parts may be recorded and displayed on film, making x-ray tests an excellent method to examine the bones, lungs, and abdominal organs. With the use of contrast media, doctors can also collect images of the urinary system and the digestive system for examination.

 

 

The doses of radiation in x-ray tests are generally very low and cause minimal harm to the human body. However, they may cause adverse effects on fetuses and are therefore not suitable for pregnant women.

 

Our X-ray department provides the following services for both in-patients and out-patients:

  • General X-rays: such as chest and bone X-rays
  • Barium meal: examines the upper alimentary system and stomach
  • Barium enema – examines the colon
  • Intravenous pyelogram or IVP: examines the urinary system for possible obstruction, infection, or mass within the system
  • Hysterosalpingography or HSG: examines the female reproduction system, commonly used for diagnosing infertility
  • Venography: examines the venous system in the body for conditions such as deep vein thrombosis
  • Biopsy for pathology
Positron Emission Tomography and Computed Tomograhy (PET/CT) Scan
Positron Emission Tomography and Computed Tomograhy (PET/CT) Scan

The Positron Emission Tomography and Computed Tomography (PET/CT) scan is a dual-modality imaging technique that combines the information of both the metabolic activity and anatomy of the body.  Positron Emission Tomography (PET scan) is an advanced isotope imaging technique that displays the metabolic state of the cell. It can trace and locate the pathological changes of cancer cells in the early stages. Computed Tomography (CT) reveals the structure and location of lesions within the body.

 

A PET/CT scan is a noninvasive procedure that examines the whole body in one single examination. Any growing tumours may be accurately located, facilitating early detection and treatment of cancer.

 

Our hospital’s PET/CT scanner is the Philips Ingenuity TF PET/CT, the first PET/CT system to incorporate the image quality improvements of both Astonish TF and iDose.  The system features high-resolution visualization and low dose techniques to manage image quality in both modalities.  The long scan length allows total body studies to be performed in one scan with speed and efficiency.

 

Clinical applications of PET/CT scan include:

  • Diagnosis and staging of malignancy
  • Evaluation of response and effectiveness of therapy
  • Surveillance of cancer recurrence
Charges for Investigative and Treatment Procedures
Radiological and Imaging Services
Radiological and Imaging Services

Enquiries: 22756688

Location
199 Tsuen King Circuit, Tsuen Wan, N.T., Hong Kong
Telephone

(852) 2275 6340

Close

診斷影像

診斷影像
oncology_banner
oncology_mobile banner

本院放射診斷部致力提供一站式、便利而且準確的診斷服務。我們的團隊受過專業訓練,擁有豐富經驗、知識和技能,本着以病人為中心的宗旨,重視病人需要,並照顧其感受。

磁力共振造影
磁力共振造影

香港港安醫院─荃灣現有兩部磁力共振掃描系統,包括一部Philips Ingenia 3T磁力共振造影掃描系統,及新增的Philips Ingenia 1.5T磁力共振造影掃描系統。兩部系統均設有先進的配置,配備最新全數碼的磁力共振造影掃描系統,創新的dStream全數碼影像鏈能同時兼顧高清圖像和超快速成像。

 

除了提供更佳的成像效果及更快的速度外,兩部系統都具備70厘米超大孔徑設計,內置空間寬敞,專為幽閉恐懼症和有特別需要的病人而設,令病人可以享受較舒適的掃描體驗。

 

甚麼是磁力共振掃描(MRI)? 

磁力共振掃描(Magnetic Resonance Imaging,簡稱MRI)有別於X光檢查或電腦掃描(Computed Tomography,簡稱CT Scan),磁力共振掃描沒有輻射。其原理是將人體放置於強力的磁場內,以無線電波激發體內氫原子發生物理作用,然後由電腦記錄氫原子產生的訊號。由於人體不同部位及器官所產生的訊號各有不同,磁力共振造影系統便可分析這些訊號,轉化成不同人體內部組織圖像。

 

本院提供的磁力共振檢查包括︰

  • 心臟磁力共振造影
    心臟磁力共振造影是一種非侵入性及無輻射的檢測技術,提供心臟的立體影像,有助評估冠狀動脈血管毛病及其他心臟病的病況。只需這一項檢查,就可以了解心臟跳動力、心肌收縮力、血流量及冠狀動脈的狀況,可說是心臟病人的「一站式」測試。

  • 腦部磁力共振造影
    大部份專科醫生認為,磁力共振造影是診斷中樞神經系統(腦部及脊髓)疾病最有效的方法。其中,擴散加權成像技術(Diffusion Weighted Scan)可以幫助中風病人找到腦部供血不足的位置。有了這些資料,醫生便能據此為病人治療,避免腦細胞永久死亡。

  • 脊椎磁力共振造影

    即使一些難以檢查的部位,如椎腔、骨節片及軟組織等,亦可透過磁力共振技術取得其影像,甚至藉此找出生長在脊椎或骨髓的腫瘤。對常受背痛、背部或四肢麻木困擾的病人而言,幫助尤大。

  • 血管磁力共振造影
    磁力共振技術亦適用於血管,如大動脈、頸動脈、主動脈及肺部和腎臟的血管等等。它屬非侵入性的檢查,故風險相對較少。

  • 身體其他部位的磁力共振造影

    肌肉、骨骼及關節造影
    磁力共振可應用於肌肉及全方位關節造影上,讓醫療人員掌握軟組織的複雜結構。骨骼磁力共振造影可以為骨科外科醫生提供重要資訊,亦是運動創傷治療中不可或缺的檢測。

     

    膽囊膽道圖

    非侵入性的磁力共振造影可檢查膽囊和膽道內部的情況。

     

    腹部及盆腔磁力共振造影
    透過磁力共振造影,可更瞭解腹部及盆腔的情況。

電腦掃描
電腦掃描

香港港安醫院—荃灣現有兩部電腦掃描系統,包括一部Philips iCT256電腦掃描及一部Canon Aquilion ONE/ Prism Edition電腦掃描,與傳統電腦掃描儀器相比,它掃描速度特快,即使閉氣有困難的病人都能順利完成檢查;且所需使用的能量較少,大大減少病人承受的輻射劑量;所需使用的顯影劑量亦較少,特別適合身體無法排出顯影劑的腎病患者,令病人健康得到更大的保障:能同時提升診斷效果和安全指數。

 

 

電腦掃描又稱電腦斷層掃描(Computed Tomography,簡稱CT scan),是一組可以計算人體組織對X光吸收程度的精密儀器,利用螺旋形式進行電腦斷層掃描,以取得連續不斷的影像及重組成立體影像。由於所需時間短,即使難以長時間保持臥姿的長者和小孩也適用。

 

電腦掃描服務範圍包括︰

  • 電腦掃描冠狀動脈造影

    電腦掃描冠狀動脈造影(Computed Tomography Coronary Angiography,簡稱CTCA)是一項非侵入性、無痛的檢查,有助檢測患上心臟疾病的風險。

     

    脂肪、鈣化物及其他物質積聚後,在血管內形成粥樣斑塊,逐漸阻塞甚至完全封閉血管,令血液無法通往心臟,不但導致出現心絞痛,甚至可能誘發心臟病。利用電腦掃描冠狀動脈造影,就可以快速測出斑塊的位置。

     

    鈣化物是誘發冠心病的元兇之一,醫療人員可利用電腦掃描冠狀動脈造影得出的數據,計算鈣化物阻塞血管的程度,繼而訂定適合的治療方案。

     

    下列為冠心病的風險因素,如果發現已有其中兩項或以上,便應考慮接受電腦掃描冠狀動脈造影了︰

    • 55歲以上或已停經的女性
    • 45歲或以上的男性
    • 有心臟病家族病史
    • 高膽固醇
    • 高血壓或過度緊張
    • 糖尿病
    • 吸煙或曾經吸煙
    • 經常久坐不動

  • 「虛擬大腸鏡」電腦掃描
    「虛擬大腸鏡」是一項新發展的醫療技術,以電腦掃描技術代替侵入性的傳統大腸鏡測試,毋須將儀器自體外導入腸道內,就可以取得大腸內部的虛擬影像。

  • 電腦掃描血管造影
    電腦掃描血管造影以非侵入方式,檢測各種動脈血管問題。

  • 其他電腦掃描服務
  • 高解像度肺部電腦掃描
  • 腹部及盆骨電腦掃描
  • 腦部電腦掃描
 
超聲波掃描
超聲波掃描

超聲波掃描,即將高頻率超聲波射向人體,聲波碰到體內組織或器宫時會反彈,儀器接收聲波的回聲後,就能將目標器官或組織顯影成圖像,適用範圍包括肝臟、膽囊、膽管、胰臟、腎臟、膀胱、子宮和卵巢等,醫生能透過此檢測,準確地診斷相關的疾病, 如肝硬化、膽石、胰臟發炎、腎石及腫瘤等。超聲波掃描並無輻射,非常安全,故此適合用作婦產科檢查。

骨質密度檢查
骨質密度檢查

雙能量X光骨質密度檢查(Dual-energy X-ray Absorptiometry,簡稱DEXA),是現時最準確和最廣泛應用的骨質密度檢查。儀器向脊椎或髖關節發射兩種不同能量水平的X光射線,由於骨質密度不同,對X光射線的吸收量亦不同,電腦將兩組射線的吸收量作對比後,就能推算出骨質密度。

 

雙能量X光骨質密度檢查所需時間短,輻射量低,任何人士都可放心作定期檢查,特別是較易患上骨質疏鬆病的人士,如停經後女性、長者或有家族病史。

乳房造影檢查
乳房造影檢查

乳房造影檢查安全、可靠,只需要極低劑量的 X 光射線,即可檢測出乳房的狀況,甚至在乳癌病徵出現以前,偵測出早期的微細腫塊。美國國家癌症研究院(National Cancer Institute,簡稱NCI)呼籲女性在四十歲後,每一至兩年進行乳房造影檢查,以減低乳癌風險。另外,此測試亦適用於一些年紀較輕,例如有家族病史的女性。

介入放射檢查/治療
介入放射檢查/治療

為了提升介入放射治療服務,本院已設置數碼血管造影(Digital Subtraction Angiography ,簡稱DSA)儀器。此先進儀器可透視出人體內部血管的狀況,同時經由數碼科技輔助,將血管以外的部份如骨骼、身體器官等影像一一刪除,清晰顯示血管的影像。

 

數碼血管造影不僅有助診斷,還有助促進微創手術技術的發展。隨着醫療技術不斷進步,不少疾病都可以通過介入放射技術醫治。

 

與傳統手術比較,介入治療程序毋須大型切口,因而不會導致大量出血,留院時間縮短,許多病人都樂於選擇這種嶄新的手術模式。

 

一般介入放射治療手術:

  • 子宮肌瘤栓塞術已證明可有效治療子宮肌瘤
  • 球囊成形術 / 支架植入治療末梢血管疾病
  • 經皮椎體成形術治療因為骨質疏鬆症或惡性腫塊造成的壓縮性骨析
  • 血栓溶解術治療中風或血栓性疾病
X光造影檢查
X光造影檢查

X光是一種帶能量的輻射線,其穿透能力會因應物質的密度不同而有別。利用這特點,就可以將骨骼、器官或其他身體組織的影像呈現在菲林上,用以檢查骨骼、肺部和腹部器官。利用顯影劑,為泌尿系統或消化系統器官作造影檢查,讓醫生進一步掌握病人的病情。

 

一般來說,X光檢查的輻射劑量十分低,對人體傷害極微。不過,由於X光或對胎兒帶來不良影響,故此孕婦不適合接受X光檢查。

 

 

本院的X光檢查部門提供全面的檢查服務予住院及門診病人︰

  • 一般X光檢查,如胸部及骨骼檢查。 
  • 鋇餐-檢查上消化系統及胃部問題 
  • 鋇劑灌腸X光-檢查大腸問題 
  • 靜脈腎盂造影術-檢查泌尿系統功能障礙 
  • 子宮輸卵管造影術-檢查各種女性生殖系統問題,如不育等 
  • 靜脈造影-檢查靜脈毛病,如靜脈栓塞等 
  • 活組織切片檢查
正電子電腦掃描
正電子電腦掃描

正電子電腦掃描(PET/CT Scan)是一種雙模式成像的掃描技術,結合了細胞功能及身體結構兩項檢查,是一種非侵入性的掃描程序,能準確地顯示腫瘤的位置,有助及早發現和治療癌症。

 

其中,正電子掃描(PET Scan)是一種先進的同位素影像科技,能顯示細胞新陳代謝的情況,追蹤早期癌細胞病變;而電腦掃描(CT Scan)則能顯示病變在人體內的結構和位置。

 

本院採用Philips Ingenuity TF 正電子電腦掃描系統。它是首批附設有Astonish TF技術的同類型儀器,這技術能提高正電子掃描的速度和影像的質量。結合iDose技術,令影像清晰,但輻射劑量輕微。另外,其掃描長度特長,可一次過進行快速的全身掃描。

 

其用途包括:

  • 找出癌症源頭及診斷癌症擴散的情況
  • 評估治療方法的進度及成效
  • 癌症復發的監測
診斷及治療費用
診斷影像服務
診斷影像服務

查詢: 22756688

位置
香港新界荃灣荃景圍199號
電話

(852) 2275 6340

關閉