Your heart will go on – with good cardiovascular health—Why and how should we keep good cardiovascular health

– The information has been reviewed by Dr. Chan Chi Yuen, Karl
shutterstock_216775927 (1)

Your heart will go on – with good cardiovascular health

Why and how should we keep good cardiovascular health

 

Blood pressure is a vital sign of health but its significance may not be easily noticeable. High blood pressure, or hypertension, seldom causes symptoms until complications develop and that is why it is considered a “silent killer”. Extremely high blood pressure may cause symptoms like dizziness, visual disturbance, headache, fatigue and facial flushing.

 

According to the American Heart Association, normal blood pressure should be less than 120/80 mm Hg. A little lower or a little higher is acceptable and the numbers may fluctuate throughout a day.

 

However, once the systolic reading consistently ranges from 120-129 mm Hg, one should be more attentive to his/her own condition. When the reading consistently ranges from 130-139 mm Hg systolic or 80-89 mm Hg diastolic, it is considered hypertension. The higher blood pressure you have, the higher the risk of you suffering from health issues related to heart, brain, kidney or blood vessels. Lifestyle changes and medications are likely to be prescribed to improve the situation.

 

While hypertension can be a fatal condition, no specific cause can be identified in over 90% of cases. Possible factors which put a person at risk of hypertension include high salt intake, obesity, having a sedentary lifestyle, smoking, heavy drinking, inadequate sleep, stress, family history of hypertension and increasing age. On the other hand, a small minority of patients, hypertension is caused by specific causes including kidney diseases, endocrine diseases and some drugs.

 

Regular blood pressure self monitoring

 

Periodic checks for blood pressure can detect hypertension early and complications can be prevented if hypertension has been managed properly. Indeed, it’s rather easy to stay away from hypertension, too. By having a balanced diet with low salt intake, doing exercise regularly, avoiding obesity, quitting smoking, refraining from excessive alcohol consumption and managing stress, a healthy lifestyle is an effective way to prevent hypertension.

 

If your blood pressure readings exceed 180/110 mm Hg, you should sit down and relax. Blood pressure should be retested 5 minutes later. Sustained unusually high readings is a dangerous sign that you should seek immediate medical advice. There is a risk of hypertensive crisis requiring urgent medical attention. Meanwhile, if you are experiencing chest pain, back pain, headache, shortness of breath, numbness, weakness, change in vision or difficulty in speaking, call for emergency services immediately because those are signs of possible organ damage.

 

Regular exercise helps to improve blood pressure

 

The American Heart Association and European Society of Cardiology encourage individuals to exercise regularly in order to reduce risk of heart diseases. Studies have shown that aerobics exercise and resistance training help reduce blood pressure. Anyone aged 18 or above without contraindication to physical activity is encouraged to participate in moderate-intensity aerobic physical activities, like walking and social dance, for at least 150 minutes, or vigorous-intensity aerobic physical activities, like running and cycling, for at least 75 minutes a week. Doubling it can bring even greater health benefits. Muscle strengthening exercise involving major muscle groups should also be arranged at least twice a week.

Some elderlies may not be able to do the recommended amounts of exercise. They are encouraged to stay physically active as far as their abilities and conditions allow. For children and the youth, they are recommended to engage in moderate- to vigorous-intensity physical activities at least 60 minutes per day for better health.

 

Healthy diet to reduce blood pressure

 

Healthy diet is also essential to maintain a good blood pressure level besides staying active. The National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute (NHLBI) in the United States has been advocating a diet that helps prevent hypertension and suppressing the risk of its complications, namely, Dietary Approaches to Stop Hypertension (DASH). Studies have shown that a DASH diet can lower blood pressure in as little as 2 weeks. It can also reduce low-density lipoprotein (LDL or “Bad”) cholesterol levels in the blood. A DASH diet helps to reduce these 2 major risk factors for heart disease.

 

In a DASH eating plan, there are few principles to follow:

  1. Lower in sodium intake
  2. Rich in potassium, calcium, magnesium, fiber and protein
  3. Low in saturated and trans fats
  4. reduce sugar intake, sugar-sweetened beverage and sweets

 

Dash eating plan emphasizes eating vegetables, fruits and fat-free/low-fat dairy products. Diet composed mainly of whole grains, fish, poultry, beans and nuts is recommended in a balanced way. Restricting sodium intake is in top priority. Daily sodium intake should be less than 2,300mg in standard DASH diet. A lower sodium version of the DASH diet restricts sodium to 1,500mg a day and can have a better blood pressure lowering effect. Therefore, using sodium-free spices/herbs/flavoring instead of salt and not adding salt when cooking rice, pasta or hot cereal helps to reduce sodium intake. Choosing food with low sodium content according to the food label and consuming less canned food, processed food or preserved food also helps.

 

When following DASH, it is important to choose foods that are rich in potassium, calcium, magnesium, fiber and protein. 4-5 servings of Nuts, seeds and legumes every week are recommended. One serving is 1/3 cup nuts, 2 tablespoons seeds, or 1/2 cup cooked legumes (dried beans or peas). Fish and poultry is preferred. Fat or skin on poultry/meat and full-fat dairy products should be avoided in order to reduce saturated fat intake. Food with trans-fat e.g. cookies, pies, margarine, non dairy coffee creamer should be avoided. 

 

Frequent self blood pressure monitor, regular exercise and healthy diet are the key elements to improve blood pressure control and reduce risk of heart disease. Regular checkup is also a highly effective preventive measure. Nevertheless, the DASH diet may not be compatible with personal needs. It is always best to consult a doctor and a nutritionist for personal nutrition and lifestyle advice.

 

Please act now!!! Your heart will go on with the lifestyle modifications.

 

Source:

Dr. Chan Chi Yuen, Karl, Specialist in Cardiology at Hong Kong Adventist Hospital – Tsuen Wan

National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute

American Heart Association

European Society of Cardiology

 

 

Close

为何要保护心脏血管健康及如何预防心血管疾病

– 以下内容经 陈志远医生 审校
shutterstock_216775927 (1)

为何要保护心脏血管健康及如何预防心血管疾病

 


血压是其中一种重要的健康指标,但多数人并不察觉其重要性。由于通常只有严重高血压才会造成头晕、视力模煳、头痛、疲倦及面部充血泛红等症状,多数高血压大都没有明显症状,却会带来严重併发症,所以高血压一直被称为「隐形杀手」。

 


根据美国心脏协会的建议,正常血压应低于 120/80 mmHg,略高或略低亦属正常。血压可在一天内有所变化,但如收缩压(上压)持续介乎 120-129 mmHg,便需加倍留神。如收缩压介乎 130-139 mmHg,或舒张压(下压)介乎 80-89 mmHg的情况持续,已属高血压。血压越高,随之而来的健康风险也越高,因此,医生会建议改变生活方式,甚至处方药物以改善情况。

 


虽然高血压可以致命,但逾九成病例都没有特定致病成因,摄取盐份过高、肥胖、久坐、吸烟、过量饮酒、睡眠不足、压力、高血压家族病史及年龄增长,都有可能造成高血压。少数人会因为肾病、内分泌疾病及药物影响等成因患上高血压。

 


定期自我测量血压

 


定期测量血压可及早发现患上高血压,在妥善管理下,更可预防併发症。

 


如果你的血压超过 180/110 mmHg,属不正常情况,应马上坐下及放松心情,等待 5分钟后再次测量,情况持续或会构成危险,应即时联络医生寻求协助。假如情况持续,甚至出现胸口痛、背痛、头痛、呼吸困难、麻痹、手脚无力、视力模煳或说话困难等器官受损的徵状,应立即送院救治。

 


然而,避免患上高血压的方法比想像中简单,就是拥有健康的生活方式,例如低钠均衡饮食、勤做运动、避免过重、戒烟戒酒及妥善的压力管理,都有有效预防高血压的方法。

 


常做运动

 


美国心脏协会及欧洲心脏病学会均建议每週定期做运动以减轻患上心脏病之风险,研究显示定期带氧运动及肌肉强化运动训练均能有效改善血压。如非经医生建议只可从事有限体能活动,任何 18 岁以上人士应每週参与至少 150 分钟中强度带氧运动如走路及社交舞,或至少 75 分钟高强度带氧运动,如跑步及单车。如可增加至 300 分钟或以上中强度带氧运动,或 150 分钟或以上高强度带氧运动则更为理想,更有利维持健康体魄。除带氧运动外,亦应安排每週至少两次包含主要肌肉群的肌肉强化训练。

 


部分长者即使无法做到建议运动量,亦应按个人能力和状况,尽量在生活中保持活跃,让身体多活动。而儿童及青少年则建议每日进行至少 60 分钟中至高强度体能活动以维持健康。

 


健康饮食

 


在体能活动以外,健康饮食对预防高血压亦必不可少。美国国家卫生院心肺与血液硑究所(NHLBI)一直提倡一种预防高血压及遏止由其引起的併发症的饮食法,名为得舒饮食(DASH)。研究显示安按照DASH饮食2星期已能改善高血压,DASH饮食亦能减少血液中的低密度胆固醇LDL(坏胆固醇),按照DASH饮食能有效减轻心脏病的两个重要风险元素。

 


DASH饮食计划有四大元素:

  1. 减少饮食中的纳含量
  2. 进食含有助于降血压的营养物质的各种食物(例如钾、钙、镁、高纤维和蛋白质等)
  3. 减少进食含饱和脂肪及反式脂肪之食物
  4. 减少糖份摄取量(例如:加糖饮料)

 


DASH饮食计划强调蔬菜、水果和低脂奶製品 以及适量的全穀物、鱼类、禽类和坚果。而限制摄取钠质尤其重要,标准DASH饮食计划建议每日摄取不多于 2,300 毫克钠,如可进行低钠DASH饮食计划降至每摄取不多于1,500 毫克钠,对降低血压效果尤佳。因此,应尽量减少使用盐、调味料及酱汁,并使用无钠香料或调味料代替盐。留意食物标籤中钠的含量,并选购钠含量较低之食品,并避免进食罐头食品、加工食品和醃製食品。

 


适量进食坚果果仁和豆类食品能提供镁、钾、蛋白质和纤维,但由于这些食物热量较高,份量不能太多,每週大约4至5份,例如一份包括1/3杯坚果、两汤匙果仁或者半杯豌豆。

 


多吃鱼类或家禽,而家禽和肉类需尽量去皮去脂肪以减少脂肪摄取量,并留意食物标籤尽量减少摄取反式脂肪,而反式脂肪常见于饼乾、酥皮 、烤烘食物和油炸食物等。

 


定期自我测量血压、常做运动和健康饮食为控制高血压的重要元素并减低患上心脏病的风险,定期检查身体亦是预防高血压和心脏病之有效的方法。此外,DASH饮食可能不符合个人需要,有需要人士可谘询医生及营养师,制定个人饮食餐单及健康的生活模式。

 


请您立刻行动!跟随健康生活的模式,减少患上心脏病的风险。

 


资料提供:

香港港安医院 — 荃湾心脏科专科医生陈志远

美国国家卫生院心肺与血液研究所

美国心脏协会

欧洲心脏病学会

关闭